Database on Basic Documents of Japan-ASEAN Relations

Department of Advanced Social and International Studies, University of Tokyo



Chairman's Statement of the First ASEAN + China, Japan, Korea (ASEAN+3) Deputy Finance Ministers and Deputy General Bank Governors Meeting

Ha Noi, Viet Nam, 18 March 1999 


1. At the ASEAN + China, Japan and Korea (ASEAN + 3) Summit held in December 1998 in Hanoi, the Leaders agreed that the ASEAN + 3 deputy finance ministers and deputy central bank governors should meet to discuss financial and macroeconomic matters of concern to the region.


2. Following the Leaders' decision, the First Meeting of the ASEAN + 3 deputy Finance Ministers and Deputy Central Bank Governors was held on 18 March 1999 in Hanoi. The Meeting exchanged views on the ways to monitor short-term capital flows and on the subject of international financial architecture.


3. The Meeting noted that rapid movement of short-term capital flow is one of the causes of the financial crisis and agreed to work together to monitor the movement of capital flows to prevent future crisis.


4. The Meeting also noted efforts undertaken in various fora on the issue of international financial architecture. The Meeting concluded that there has been a convergence of views on the issue, particularly the need to involve emerging economies in the process.


5. The Meeting agreed that the forum is very important, timely and very useful. They agreed to maintain close cooperation in addressing these issues and present to outcome to the forth-coming ASEAN + 3 Summit scheduled later for this year.


6. The Meeting was chaired by Ms. Le Thi Bang Tam, Vice Minister of Finance of Vietnam and attended by:




Dato Yakub Abu Baltar

Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Finance, Brunei Darussalam


Dr. Miranda S. Goeltom

Managing Director, Bank Indonesia



Mr. Yao Phonevantha

Vice Minister of Finance



Dato Dr. Aris Othman


Ministry of Finance



Mr. U Than Lwin

Deputy Governor

Central Bank of Myanmar


Mr. Jeremias N. Paul, Jr.

Assistant Secretary

Department of Finance,



Dr. Khor Hoe Ee

Senior Executive Director

Monetary Authority of Singapore


Mr. Kiettisak Meecharoen

Assistant Governor

Bank of Thailand



Mr. Jin Ligun

Vice Minister

Ministry of Finance




Mr. Eisuke Sakakibara

Vice Minister for International Affairs

Ministry of Finance




Mr. Chung Duck-Koo

Vice Minister

Ministry of Finance



and their respective delegations. The Meeting was also attended by the representatives from the ASEAN Secretariat.